

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 24, 2020

PRESS CONTACT:
Chelsea Holmes
Programs Manager
704.890.2318
Chelsea.holmes@ntbca.org

## BUSINESS COUNCIL FOR THE ARTS ANNOUNCES 2020 OBELISK AWARDS HONOREES AND FINALISTS

**DALLAS**—Eleven North Texas arts individuals and organizations will be honored at the 32<sup>nd</sup> annual Obelisk Awards to be presented virtually by Business Council for the Arts on the originally planned date and time of Tuesday, November 17. noon – 1:00.

Co-chairs of the 2020 Obelisk Awards are **Mimi Crume Sterling**, Vice-President of Corporate Culture and Philanthropy at Neiman Marcus Group and **Cari Walls**, architect and Principal of the architecture firm Morrison, Dilworth and Walls. **The Obelisk Awards** were founded in 1989 to recognize outstanding partnerships between business and the arts.

Honorees and their nominators are – Sanjiv Yajnik – nominated by Dallas Symphony Orchestra | Sammons Enterprises – nominated by BigThought | Frost Bank – nominated by Nasher Sculpture Center | Thompson & Knight Foundation – nominated by Gail Sachson, ASK ME ABOUT ART | Joseph Vincelli Music – nominated by Donnamarie McGaw | Dallas Chamber Symphony – nominated by Bell Nunnally & Martin LLP | ACES - nominated by Nell Langford | Irving Archives & Museum – nominated by thinkIndia Foundation | Megan Heber – nominated by Raymond Rowell | Margie J. Reese – nominated by SLDcreative and African American Museum Dallas | Dr. Dennis Kratz – nominated by UTD School of Arts and Humanities.

In addition to the co-chairs, jurors **Rick del Monte**, Ann and Charles Eisemann, Patricia Meadows, Nancy Nasher, Hollie Neal, Sammetria Goodson, Saumya Anveshica Tayi, and LaMonte Thomas reviewed the qualifications of 38 finalists. (List of finalists and their nominators is attached).

The Obelisk Awards will feature **Dr. Robert Dye**, Senior Vice President and Chief Economist of Comerica Bank, with a message on the State of the Arts in North Texas.

The 2020 Obelisk Awards' presenting sponsors are Nancy A. Nasher + David J. Haeimisegger. The Obelisk Awards are underwritten by Capital One and Neiman Marcus Group with additional sponsorship by The Beck Group, Bourland Octave Management LLC, Local Profile, Comerica Bank, Corgan, HALL GROUP, Harwood International / The Samurai Collection, Haynes and Boone LLP, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP, Jackson Walker LLP, Mr. Tom Leatherbury & Patricia Villareal, McGrath Family



Charitable Fund, Methodist Health System, MDW Studio, NorthPark Center, Oncor, Parkland Health & Hospital System, PwC, Thompson and Knight LLP, Tolleson Wealth Management, United Mechanical, University of North Texas, UT Southwestern Medical Center, and Vinson & Elkins LLP / Dorothea L. Leonhardt Foundation.

UT rdt

Sponsorships and donations in recognition of the honorees and BCA programs can be made at www.ntbca.org/obelisk-sponsorship.

## **Quotes from 2020 Obelisk Awards Co-Chairs**

Cari Walls, Principal of Morrison, Dilworth, Walls – "It is my pleasure to serve as cochair for the 2020 Obelisk Awards, especially seeing firsthand how Business Council for the Arts fosters partnerships between business and the arts in a way that enhances corporate cultures while providing resources for nonprofits in our communities."

Mimi Crume Sterling, Vice President of Corporate Culture and Philanthropy at Neiman Marcus Group - "The Obelisk Awards is a distinctly different awards ceremony that primarily recognizes businesses for their support of our North Texas arts and culture community. It is my honor to again serve as co-chair to bring together the for-profit and nonprofit worlds to ensure a vibrant, diverse community for all."

Attachments:
BCA Logo
Obelisk Logos
List of all finalists and their nominators
List of honorees and their nominators