

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

January 31, 2022

contact: Chelsea Holmes chelsea.holmes@ntbca.org (704) 890 - 2318

BUSINESS COUNCIL FOR THE ARTS ANNOUNCES

2022 OBELISK AWARD CHAIR and HONORARY CHAIRS;

OPENS NOMINATIONS FOR AWARDS

NORTH TEXAS—The Business Council for the Arts (BCA) Board of Directors is proud to announce that Pamela Zeigler-Petty will chair BCA's 2022 Obelisk Awards.

Pamela is a member of the BCA Board of Directors, Co-Founder, BCA Diversity, Equity, Inclusion Committee, Co-Chair, BCA Collin and Denton County Committee, the President of PZP BizConnect and the Senior Vice President of Community Development Banking at InterBank. "Pamela's dynamic personality, business acumen and love for the arts make her the perfect chair for the Obelisk Awards during our 35th anniversary year. We are especially proud to recognize that Pamela is the first person of color to serve in this important position," says BCA CEO Katherine Wagner.

Underscoring the importance of this milestone year, Honorary Chairs for the 2022 Obelisk Awards are luminary couples Nancy Nasher and David Haemisegger and Patricia Villareal and Tom Leatherbury.

As owners of NorthPark Center since 1995, Nancy A. Nasher and her husband David J. Haemisegger have seamlessly integrated culture and community into public spaces, creating a "shopping museum" unique in the world.

Nancy and David have dedicated their professional and personal life to the advancement of the arts. Nancy serves as Founder's Chair of Business Council for the Arts, and on the boards of such important institutions as the Nasher Sculpture Center, Dallas Symphony Orchestra, the Dallas Public Library, Duke University, and Princeton University. David has also greatly contributed to the Dallas community as a board member for the Dallas Museum of Art, the Nasher Foundation, and Cancer Support Community of North Texas.

Patricia Villareal and Tom Leatherbury have been proud supporters of the Business Council for the Arts since the early 2000s. Between them, they have served on the



Boards of BCA, the SPCA of Texas, The Lamplighter School, Greenhill School, the Dallas Opera, and Texas Appleseed, among others. Patricia is the principal of PatVillarealLaw, PLLC, and Tom is a senior partner at Vinson & Elkins and the Director of the First Amendment Clinic at Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law.

The Obelisk Awards annually recognizes companies and leaders in business and the arts for their invaluable contributions supporting arts and culture in North Texas. Nominations for this year's honorees are due by Tuesday, May 31, 2022.

Nomination Categories

Nominations may be made in seven categories including Business Champion for the Arts, Outstanding Leadership Arts Alumnus and Visionary Nonprofit Arts Leader for individuals, Arts Education, Arts Partnerships, and New Initiatives for businesses, and Distinguished Cultural Organization for nonprofit organizations.

Nominations may be presented now online at www.ntbca.org/nominate-obelisk or by mail to Business Council for the Arts, c/o Obelisk 2022 Co- Chairs, 8687 N. Central Expy., Suite 2131, Dallas, TX 75225. Deadline is 5 p.m. on Tuesday, May 31. A single organization may make multiple nominations.

Business Council for the Arts

Founded at the request of the Dallas Citizen's Council in 1988 by Raymond D. Nasher at the request of the Dallas Citizens Council, Business Council for the Arts connects North Texas businesses, municipalities, and educational institutions with regional arts and culture. Programs include Art at Work, Arts & Health, Arts & Belonging, Leadership Arts Institute and On My Own Time as well as corporate memberships. BCA also works to measure the economic impact of nonprofit arts and cultural organizations in partnership with Americans for the Arts. In its most recent report (2017), these organizations employ some 52,000 individuals and make a \$1.5 billion impact on the regional economy.

Attachments:
BCA Logo
Photo of Pamela Zeigler-Petty
Photo of Nancy A. Nasher and David J. Haemisegger
Photo of Patricia Villareal and Tom Leatherbury



Cutline:

Pamela Zeigler-Petty will Chair the 34th annual Obelisk Awards to be held on Tuesday, November 15th at the Fairmont Dallas. Honorary Chairs include Nancy A. Nasher and David J. Haemisegger and Patricia Villareal and Tom Leatherbury. Hosted by Business Council for the Arts, which bridges the vibrant North Texas arts community with regional businesses, The Obelisk Awards will honor ten businesses, individual contributors and a nonprofit organization for their support of arts and culture.