

Business Council for the Arts http://www.ntbca.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: October 22, 2015

CONTACT: Jordan Lee Communications Coordinator (972) 991-8300 ext. 606 jordan.lee@ntbca.org

Obelisk Awards

BUSINESS COUNCIL FOR THE ARTS ANNOUNCES THE 2015 OBELISK AWARD HONOREES

Dallas, Texas- Business Council for the Arts is pleased to announce the honorees of The 2015 Obelisk Awards, which recognizes companies and business leaders for their invaluable contributions and dedication to the North Texas cultural community.

"Businesses and business leaders in North Texas are harnessing the power of art for community good more than ever before," according to Kevin Hurst, Director of Charitable Giving for Neiman Marcus Group and Chairman of The 2015 Obelisk Awards. "Our Obelisk Awards honorees are the greatest exemplars of the good that results from partnerships between businesses and the arts."

The 2015 Obelisk Awards will be held on Friday, November 13, 11:30 – 1:30 at The Fairmont Dallas.

2015 Obelisk Awards Honorees are: (in alphabetic order; please see attached document for further information on specific categories and honorees)

- Atmos Energy Corporation, nominated by WaterTower Theatre
- Beyond the Horizon, nominated by Undermain Theatre
- Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, nominated by Neiman Marcus Group
- Edwin Cabaniss, nominated by Steven Roth
- Neiman Marcus Willow Bend, nominated by North Texas Performing Arts and Plano Children's Theatre
- NorthPark Center, nominated by Dallas Symphony Orchestra
- Spec's Wines, Spirits & Finer Foods, nominated by UNT, College of Music
- Stephen A. Waldman, nominated by the Dallas Holocaust Museum
- The Dallas Weekly, nominated by Dallas Black Dance Theatre
- Virgin America, nominated by Dallas Film Society

KeyNote Speaker and Master of Ceremonies

Keynote speaker for the event is world-recognized scientist, Dr. Eric Olson. Dr. Olson is Director of the Hamon Center for Regenerative Science and Medicine, Chair of Molecular Biology, and the Annie and Willie Nelson Professor in Stem Cell Research at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Olson will be speaking on the heart between science and music.

Master of Ceremonies is Mary Anne Alhadeff, President & CEO of North Texas Public Broadcasting, which includes KERA Radio and Television, as well as KXT and affiliated programs.

Artist for The 2015 Obelisk Awards

Each Obelisk Award is a handblown glass sculpture by noted Dallas artist, Jim Bowman, of Bowman Glass Studios.

Members of The 2015 Obelisk Awards Host Committee:

Francey Beall, Barbara and Don Daseke, Betsy and Richard Eiseman, Jr., Dwight and Claire Emanuelson, Janiece Evans-Page, Kenny and Sherry Goldberg, Joyce Goss, Laree Hulshoff and Ben Fisher, Tom Leatherbury, Michael Musarra, Dotti Reeder, Brian Shivers, Michelle Thomas, Shelby Wagner and Niven Morgan, Randall White, Craig Young

Members of the Board of Directors, Business Council for the Arts:

Michael Abcarian, Joel Austin, Gabriel Barbier-Mueller, King Bourland, Bridgit Chayt, Randy Colson, Samantha Hale Crispin, Rick del Monte, Bernie DiFiore, Hilda Galvan, Larry Glasgow, Kenny Goldberg, Robert Hernandez, Debra Hodges, Dr. Sam Holland, Kevin Hurst, Dr. Dennis Kratz, Tom Leatherbury, Mary McNulty, Michael Musarra, Lara Moffat, Nancy Nasher, Ann Pomykal, Phil Puckett, Dotti Reeder, Terri Ricketts, Steven Roth, Phil Samson, Dr. James Scott, Anthony Scotti, David Torok, Sherry Tucker, Katherine Wagner, Craig Young

CEO and President: Katherine Wagner (Katherine.wagner@ntbca.org or 972-991-8300 extension 600)

To purchase sponsorship and seating: Contact bca@ntbca.org or call 972-991-8300 extension 601.

About Business Council for the Arts

Business Council for the Arts (BCA) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1988 as an initiative of the Dallas Citizen's Council by Raymond D. Nasher and other local business leaders to create business/arts partnerships, leading to enhanced quality of life and economic growth for the region. For 28 years, Business Council for the Arts has developed business leaders for nonprofit arts and cultural boards of directors; fostered employee creativity, engagement and creativity through the arts; guided strategic business support for the arts; and measured the economic impact of arts and culture in North Texas.